What is the grand staircase?

The Grand Staircase is an immense formation of sedimentary rock layers that stretch 100 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, through Zion National Park, and into the Grand Canyon. It is part of the 1.87 million acre Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument.