When did the u. s. fight in the vietnam war?

The U.S. gave financial and military support for South Vietnam starting in 1954. Military advisors increased from about 1000 in 1959 to more than 23000 in 1964. Combat units were sent starting in 1964. Direct U.S. involvement ended in 1973. Remaining advisors left in 1975 with the fall of Saigon.