When was pompeii excavated?

The first excavation in Pompeii dates back to the age of the emperor Alessandro Severo (222 until 235) but the works failed because of the thick blanket of lapillus. It was only between 1594 and 1600 that the excavations started to bear fruit. Archaeologists are still working on it today.