What is gates?

There are many definitions of the term gates. In its most basic use, gates refers to entryways into otherwise fenced off areas. Technologically speaking, gates usually refer to logic gates based on Boolean algebra. Such logic gates include the operators, AND, OR, XOR, NOT, NAND, NOR, and XNOR.