When did they stop making dollar coins?

The United States Mint produced silver dollar coins from 1794 to 1803, then ceased regular production until 1836. Since December 11, 2011, the Mint has not produced dollar coins for general circulation, and all dollar coins produced after that date have been specifically for collectors.