What happened on september eleventh two thousand and one?

The Islamic terrorist group al-Qaeda completed four coordinated terrorist attacks against the United States by hijacking 4 passenger airplanes and crashing them into the world trade center in New York, The Pentagon in Washington DC, and a field in Pennsylvania.