What was the first horror movie ever made?

Le Manoir du diable (English The House of the Devil) is a 1896 two-minute-long French film directed by Georges Méliès . The film contains many traditional pantomime elements and was intentionally meant to amuse people, rather than frighten them.

---

Birth of a Nation was released on February 8th, 1915.