Who invented chinese checkers?

The game was invented in Germany in 1892 under the name "Stern-Halma" as a variation of the older American game Halma. The "Stern" (German for star) refers to the board's star shape. The name "Chinese checkers" originated in the United States as a marketing scheme by Bill and Jack Pressman in 1928