Do you need a cable tv box to stream tv?

Some streaming services require a decoder to stream their service from an internet connection. This can be a Firestick or similar device. Many sites will allow you to stream videos either no charge or pay as you go. Others are pay in advance for monthly usage. Boxes are only used for cable TV.