What did the initials n. c. i. s. stand for?

Within the Department of the Navy, the Naval Criminal Investigative Service, known as NCIS, is the civilian federal law enforcement agency uniquely responsible for investigating felony crime, preventing terrorism and protecting secrets for the Navy and Marine Corps.