Does it take more muscles to frown than smile?

Yes. At minimum ten muscles are required to smile in which only the upper lip and corners of the mouth are lifted. A similarly minimal frown requires only six muscles to lower the corners of the mouth. But smiling is better. Smile more. Frown less. You will be happier.