How do you cook white rice on the stove?

Add 1 cup of uncooked rice to 1.5 to 2 cups of water and 1 teaspoonful of salt. Bring the saucepan to a boil over medium heat, then cover and reduce to a simmer. Cook until all the liquid is absorbed. Fluff with a fork.