Where is the movie never rarely sometimes always?

‘Never Rarely Sometimes Always’ is set in rural Pennsylvania and New York both provide a sharp contrast to each other. The varying landscapes add to the depth in the narrative as it explores these two girls feeling out-of-place in their hometown while also struggling to find their place in New York.