How did q-tips get it's name?

Q-tips were originally called Baby Gays, and in 1926, it was changed to Q-tips Baby Gays. Later, the name Baby Gays was discontinued. The “Q” in Q-tips stands for quality, and the word “tips” describes the cotton swab at the end of the stick.