What is the mexican u. s. war?

The Mexican–American War was an armed conflict between the United States and Mexico from 1846 to 1848. It started with the United States’ annexation of Texas in 1845 and with a dispute over whether Texas ended at the Nueces River (Mexican claim) or the Rio Grande (U.S. claim).