Tell me the recipe for an old-fashioned?

2 oz bourbon or rye whiskey, 1/4 oz simple syrup, 2 dashes Angostura bitters, orange peel or cherry, for garnish (optional). Add simple syrup and bitters to a rocks glass. Fill the glass with ice, and stir. Add bourbon or rye and stir for about 30 seconds. Garnish with orange peel or cherry.