What happens when you add water to dry ice?

The water, being considerably warmer than the minus 100 degrees Celcius dry ice (i.e. frozen carbon dioxide), causes it to sublimate, meaning turn directly from a solid to a gas. The CO2 gas is still very cold and causes a cloud of condensed water vapor to appear.