Do snakes have noses?

Snakes do have noses, but they only use them to breathe air, not to smell. Their tongues are what they use to smell molecules in the air. Pit Vipers also have small holes, or Pits, by their nose, but these do not smell or breathe. Pits have heat sensors to help snakes determine the distance to prey.