Why was cigarettes invented?

The practice is believed to have begun as early as 5000–3000 BC in Mesoamerica and South America. Tobacco was introduced to Eurasia in the late 17th century by European colonists, where it followed common trade routes. Cigarettes as a product is a modern, more convenient form of this old practice.