What has four letters sometimes nine letters but never five letters?

That was a smart question . The answer lies within the question itself. You just have to remove the punctuation mark in the end to get the answer for that question. The word “WHAT” has 4 letters : W,H,A,T The word “SOMETIMES” has 9 letters : S,O,M,E,T,I,M,E,S