Why are eggo waffles called eggo waffles?

Eggo waffles were originally named Froffles. It was meant to be a combination of "frozen" and "waffles" but it didn't last long. The name was changed to Eggo waffles by 1955 as customers started calling them Eggos, because of the egg flavor that apparently stuck out more to them.