When can babies start holding their own bottle?

Some babies can hold their own bottle around 6 months of age. The average may be closer to 8 or 9 months, when babies have the strength and fine motor skills to hold objects and guide them where they want them to go (like to their mouths). So a range of 6 to 10 months is totally normal.