What does a cardinal bird look like?

The cardinal is around eight inches in length. It has a black mask on its face, a crest on its head, and a short, cone-shaped bill. Cardinals are known for their red color, but this is only found on the males. Females are pale brown overall with red tinges in the wings, tail, and crest.