Where did the term jump the shark come from?

An episode of Happy Days, where Fonzi litterally jumped a shark while on a motorcycle. It was such an outlandish plot-line, when the show was already struggling that people use the term to refer to other shows making outlandish attempts to get viewers when their show isn't doing well.