Who is john wynthrop?

John Winthrop was an English Puritan lawyer and one of the leading figures in founding the Massachusetts Bay Colony, the 2nd largest colony following Plymouth Colony. Winthrop led the first large wave of colonizers from England in 1630 and was governor for 12 of the colony's first 20 years.