Was chile neutral in world war two?

Chile started off neutral in world war two, as Germany was a good trading partner. After demonstrations, the breaking of the treaty between Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union and the sinking of a Chilean ship, the Tolten, by a German U-boat, Chile broke off relations and declared war in 1943.