Why do some cats not meow?

Don't worry if your cat doesn't meow or does it only rarely. Cats communicate mainly through body language and through odor. So, meowing occurs only if a cat is alarmed, is aggressive, or wants to call attention to itself. If your cat doesn't meow, it is fair to assume that it is ok and happy.