How do you find a truffle?

Travel to western Europe or the Pacific Northwest, look for browning dirt and small holes in areas with moist soil around the base of beech, fir, and oak trees (look for signs of fungus). They are extremely difficult to find without the assistance of a dog trained to sniff them out.