Is the southern ocean new?

No, however there is and has been debate on whether to recognize it as a separate ocean. The International Hydrographic Association recognizes it as an ocean the runs from the coast of Antarctica to the 60th parallel south. The National Geographic Society has yet to recognize the Southern Ocean.