What kind of creature is baby yoda?

Yoda is a fictional character in the Star Wars universe, which first appears in the 1980 film The Empire Strikes Back. He is a small, green humanoid alien. Star Wars creator George Lucas chose to keep the name and background of Yoda's species a mystery and list their species as "Unknown."