What year was minecraft made in?

Minecraft was first released to the public on May 17, 2009. The first major update, dubbed alpha version, was released on June 28, 2010. Minecraft entered its beta testing phase on December 20, 2010. The full version of Minecraft was released on November 18, 2011.