Can caterpillars see?

Caterpillars can sense touch, taste, smell, sound, and light. The vision of butterflies and moths changes radically in their different stages of life. Caterpillars can barely see at all. They have simple eyes (ocelli) which can only differentiate dark from light; they cannot form an image.