What do you get salmonella from?

Salmonella is a bacteria that lives in feces. Its likely to occur in raw meat that was contaminated during slaughter. Cooking kills salmonella and makes the food safe to eat. Vegetables can be contaminated by feces getting in the vegetable patch. Thus raw fruits and veggies can be a source.