What lives inside a sand dollar?

The shell of the sand dollar is occupied by the sand dollar itself. Sand dollars (also known as a sea cookie or snapper biscuit in New Zealand, or pansy shell in South Africa) are species of flat, burrowing sea urchins belonging to the order Clypeasteroida.