When did maroon five debut?

The members of Maroon 5 met in 1994 while in high school, where they formed the band Kara's Flowers. In 1997 they were signed to Reprise Records where they released their first studio album. The album was met with a tepid response, so the band was dropped. They re-remerged in 2001 as Maroon 5.