Was buford pusser murdered?

Pusser died on August 21, 1974, of injuries sustained in a one-car automobile accident. His Corvette struck an embankment at high speed and he was ejected from the vehicle. The state trooper who investigated claimed that Pusser's death was caused by drunk driving without a seat belt.