Is a jack rabbit a rabbit?

Jackrabbits are hares, not rabbits. Hares are larger than rabbits, and typically have taller hind legs and longer ears. A jackrabbit has a longer, more slender body than a rabbit. Rabbits live in burrows while jackrabbits buid nests above ground.