What is the five hundred and first attack battalion?

In the Star Wars movies & books, the 501st Legion, originally operating as an elite group known as the 501st Clone Battalion, was a Republic Military battalion and later legion of elite clone troopers under the command of Jedi General Anakin Skywalker and Jedi Commander Ahsoka Tano.