Was president andrew johnson impeached?

Yes, President Andrew Johnson was impeached. However, the Senate acquitted him. The charge was "high crimes and misdemeanors." Nine of the articles of impeachment were because he removed Edwin Stanton as the Secretary of War, which violated the "Tenure of Office Act".

---

President Andrew Johnson was impeached for "high crimes and misdemeanors." Nine of the articles of impeachment were because he removed Edwin Stanton as the Secretary of War, which violated the "Tenure of Office Act". Although President Johnson was impeached, the Senate acquitted him.

---

Almost! The house voted to impeach him but the senate was one vote short of impeachment.