How do you know when a lime is ready to pick?

Give your limes a little squeeze first, and take note whether or not they "give" a little when you do so. Limes that are ripe will be firm, but not hard, squeezable, but not too soft. Those that are too ripe are quite soft while limes that don't give when you squeeze them are not ripe enough.