How do you find copper in minecraft?

In Minecraft, copper ore can be generated anywhere on the Overworld in the form of veins. Veins of copper ore are found at medium depths, most commonly between layers 47 and 48.9. Copper ore must be mined with a stone pickaxe or higher, or else it drops nothing.