What does it mean when orchid leaves turn yellow?

If the leaf is yellowing from the tip it may be that the leaf is at the end of it's life span, was damaged, has a fungal infection, or sun damage. If the yellowing is traveling from the stem to the tip, there may be a serious issue with the orchid, such as a fungal infection in the stem.