How many nursing homes are there in the united states?

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, there are approximately 15,600 nursing homes in the United States with 1.7 million licensed beds, occupied by 1.4 million patients. The primary advantage to nursing home care is that patients have access to skilled care around the clock.