Why is lysol bad for cats?

One of the active ingredients in Lysol is Phenol. It is especially dangerous for cats, but can also be problematic for dogs. Cats can absorb it through the air, through their mouth by licking or through their skin. Cats cannot process phenol, and can lead to many problems, including liver failure.