How did the compromise of eighteen fifty harm african americans?

The Compromise of 1850 included the Fugitive Slave Act, which became largely disputed within the northern free states. The Fugitive Slave Act stipulated that citizens of free states were required to return slaves found in the North. The Act also denied a fugitive's right to a jury trial.