Who is sydney lanier?

Sidney Lanier was a 19th century poet, author, & musician born in Macon, GA. He wrote one novel, Tiger-Lillies, but is best remembered for his poetry reflecting the natural beauty of the state. Two of his well known poems are The Marshes of Glynn & Song of the Chattahoochee. He also played flute.