What happens if they tie in the world cup?

After the initial group stages, there are no ties at the end of regulation in the round of 16, Quarter finals, semi-finals, and or finals. There are two 15 minute sessions with a one minute break in between. If there is still a tie, the teams go into a penalty shootout.