How much can i contribute to a four oh one k.?

There are annual limits. In 2016, if you are under 50 years old, you can contribute a maximum of $18,000. If you're 50 or older, you can make an additional catch-up contribution of as much as $6,000, for a total of up to $24,000. Those contribution limits change annually to track inflation.