When was the internet built?

The concept of connecting computers together to share resources, goes back to the late 1950s. Network data transfer and communication protocols such as TCP/IP were developed in the 70s. In 1988, Domain Name Systems and Internet service providers marked the beginnings of the commercial Internet.