How does water turn into ice?

Liquid water turns to ice when it reaches and drops below it's freezing point. The water becomes crystalline at that temperature and expands slightly as it freezes.

---

In a liquid form, water molecules move around quickly, bouncing off of one another. As the liquid cools down, the amount of energy is reduced and the molecules start to move slower. When the water temperature reaches around 0°C, the molecules stick together and form a solid called ice.